2014 Scholarship Awardees

Friends of AALA awarded each of 25 LAUSD students with a $2000 scholarship.  Additionally, each student received an AALA Scholarship Award Certificate, a certificate from their respective Board of Education member, a junior portfolio and  a 16” x 20” portrait from Eric Trerotola of Lifetouch School Studios.

Eight scholarships carried special designations and the recipients were: 

  • Dr. William J. Johnston Leadership Scholarship – Faraz Kahen, Taft HS
  • Jack H. Silas Social Justice Scholarship – Liliana Trujillo, Wilson HS
  • Zelda Fisher Memorial Scholarship – Esther Choe, Marshall HS
  • Conchita Puncel Memorial Scholarship – Leilanie Martinez, South Gate HS
  • LAUSD Staff Leadership Scholarship – Adriana Marquez, Linda Marquez HS
  • Unit J Scholarship – Luna Gonzalez, Fairfax HS
  • Jack Moscowitz Scholar Awards – Irma Muñoz, Garfield HS and Espiridion Ruiz Orea, Belmont HS

The 17 other scholars honored at the banquet were: 

  • Mercedes Adame, Roybal LC
  • Opemipo Akerele, King Drew Magnet HS of Medicine and Science
  • Justin Gaither, Cleveland HS Humanities Magnet
  • Andrea Gamino, South Gate HS
  • Victoria Hong, Fairfax HS
  • Janet Juarez, Garfield HS
  • Alejandra Leon, South Gate HS
  • Manuel Luis, King Drew Magnet HS of Medicine and Science
  • Amy Xing Gui Luo, Lincoln HS
  • Yuki Mano, Venice HS
  • Sonya Morris, John R. Wooden HS
  • Fida Newaj, Belmont HS
  • Quiahuitzin Ortega, Valley Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Beatriz Paez, East Valley Skills Center
  • Marinell Pancho, Roybal LC
  • Brontë Schmit, Northridge Academy
  • Benjamin Van Aken, Venice HS

These young scholars will be attending colleges and universities such as Yale, Stanford, Berkeley, MIT, UCLA, USC, Princeton, Syracuse, Scripps, Brown and Bowdoin. They represent the diversity of the District. Included among awardees are students from the Options and Community Adult Schools.