2017 Community Volunteer Awardees

The 2017 Community Volunteer Awards  were presented to six individuals and organizations that have made a significant impact on the lives of students in the Los Angeles Unified School District through their generous volunteer service.  They were nominated by the principal of the school or supervisor of the department where they were volunteering.  Each recipient received a commemorative plaque from AALA and a certificate from the Board of Education.  They are:

  • Dr. Corinn Cross, nominated by Yolanda Lasmarias, Local District Northeast Nursing Services
  • Martin Diaz and Silvia Flores nominated by Salvador Velasco, Principal, Edison Middle School
  • Brett Moody, nominated by Luis Montoya, Principal, Markham Middle School
  • Helen Pacheco, nominated by Dr. Carolin McKie, Principal, Dominguez Elementary School
  • Kaiser Permanente Educational Theatre, nominated by Joseph Prendez, Principal, Weigand Elementary School.

The Board of Directors of Friends of AALA and AALA congratulates all of these dedicated awardees.