Friends of AALA

AALA established FRIENDS OF AALA, a 501(c )(3) nonprofit corporation in January 2011, to continue our outstanding student scholarship program for deserving LAUSD students. In April 2020 AALA awarded 32 scholarships to graduating seniors representing high schools and community adult schools.  The 2019-2020 school year marked AALA’s 38th  year providing scholarships to students.

Friends of AALA also recognizes the tremendous support given by community volunteers at local school sites and presents five awards each year.

The Board of  Friends of AALA meets its annual fundraising goal by seeking donations from AALA’s active and alumni members, private foundations, service clubs, organizations and businesses. The generosity of these donors is much appreciated.

All donations to FRIENDS OF AALA are tax deductible.


President Dr. Eve Sherman
Vice President Dr. Evangelina Stockwell
Secretary Jane Pollock
Treasurer Neal Kleiner
Members Antonio Camacho
Renée Fuentes-Campa
Nery X. Paiz Juan A. Flecha
Dr. Rosa Maria Hernandez
Dr. Judith Perez
Daryl Narimatsu Carol Truscott