2024 AALA Elections

AALA Self-Nomination Procedures

  • All candidates for any office must be active regular members of the Association.
  • All candidates for a department position of vice president or director must be members of that department.
  • All candidates will submit a nomination application, including an election statement of not more than 100 words, by Monday, February 5, 2024.
  • The application material submitted must be electronically signed by the candidate.
  • For the 100-word statement, candidates may not use the names of their opponent(s); the statement will be reproduced and distributed exactly as submitted; and there will be no corrections, alterations or changes of any sort in the text submitted.
  • Prior to the emailing of ballots, all candidates shall have the opportunity to verify their original statement.
  • Self-nominations may be made at the Thursday, February 8, 2024 Representative Assembly meeting. Application and 100-word statement of candidates nominated at the Representative Assembly meeting are due in the AALA office by Thursday, February 15, 2024.

Sources: AALA Constitution

The electronic self-nomination form is now available. Click HERE to access form.


Thursday 1-18-2024Executive Board. Distribution of Election Calendar
Thursday  1-25-2024Distribution of self-nomination forms (Via e-mail and Update)
Monday 2-05-2024Deadline for self-nomination forms to be received in the AALA office
Thursday 2-08-2024Representative Assembly.  Candidates announced –opportunity for nominations from the floor  
Thursday 2-15-2024Statements of nominations from the floor due in the AALA office
Wednesday 2-21-2024Distribution of electronic ballots and candidates’ statements to AALA members
Friday 3-01-2024Deadline for return of electronic ballots
Thursday 3-07-2024Distribution of electronic run-off ballots  (if necessary)
Thursday 3-14-2024Deadline for return of electronic run-off ballots
Friday  3-15-2024Results Announced in Update
AALA President    Nery Paiz
Adult Director Julio Melara
Elementary Vice President  Manuel Nava
Secondary Vice PresidentBlanca Cruz
School Support Administrator Director  Angela Sandoval
Unit J Director  Manuel Montenegro
Early Education Director Viken Kazarian